Science in Society Laboratories

Seminar (10 ECTS, 3 SWS)


Maximilian Fochler

Florentine Frantz

Are you interested in understanding the dynamics of public controversies around science and technology related issues? Do you want to learn to analyze them in an interdisciplinary environment? And what about developing the skills necessary to engage in debates where both scientific knowledge and societal values matter?

What is this course about?

Scientific knowledge and new technologies are changing our society. On the one hand they open up new possibilities to solve societal problems. On the other hand they often raise issues that have to be widely discussed, decided and regulated. Scientists from all disciplines should be capable to participate competently in these discussions. 

At the same time, there is hardly any societal debate or political decision-making process that happens without considering scientific expertise. Scientific knowledge is expected to provide orientation and to lead to better solutions. Particularly when it comes to controversial topics, what counts as relevant and reliable knowledge, which societal values should be taken into account and in what ways all of this should be included in political decisions is at stake.

The aim of this course is to develop students' skill to identify actors' positions in controversial societal debates, to systematically analyze their relationship to scientific expertise and, based on this, to develop recommendations. This is a highly valued qualification in many areas of the contemporary labor market (e.g. policy advice, science communication etc.).

Health effects of Aluminium

Aluminium is a central material used in today's society. In recent years, several studies have reported about potential correlation between aluminium and diseases, such as cancer and dementia. The health effects of aluminium products are controversially discussed.

Mobile phone radiation

Mobile phones, mobile phone masts but also Wireless Local Area Networks (WLANs) expose humans to high-frequency radiation in new forms. The effects on human health and their implications for the use of mobile phones and mobile communication in general are controversially discussed.

Antimicrobial resistance

Antibiotics are powerful drugs, which are used to treat bacterial infections, in both humans and animals. More and more bacterial strains are resistant to the treatment. Potential reasons as well as the effects on human health and the environment are therefore currently the focus of public and scientific debates.

Colony Collapse Disorder

Since the mid-2000s beekeepers across the globe observe a new and dramatic form of bee deaths (Colony Collapse Disorder). Unusually severe losses of colonies over the winter and the disappearance of worker bees diminish the bee population in many countries. Causes and consequences of this phenomenon are in the focus of an intense debate..

 

 

What happens in the course?

In this course students learn -  in small interdisciplinary groups - to systematically map a current debate at the intersection of science, technology and society. Step-by-step and in close interaction with the lecturers the students will learn approaches and tools to analyze debates, apply them to a specific case study and receive feedback. They will search for documents, identify positions and conduct expert interviews. They will learn to prepare the results of their analyses in various formats, to present and discuss them. The assumed goal is to advise policy makers and help them to better understand the relationship between value positions and scientific expertise in a debate.

In this seminar we will work in three groups on the debates on the herbicide Glyphosat, the creation of ‚gene-drive mosquitoes’ to fight diseases like Malaria, and the search and establishment of permanent disposal sites for nuclear waste. We consider these debates as our “laboratory” in which the students investigate the interplay of science, technology and society. The case of the Colony Collapse Disorder in honeybees will be used by the lecturers to practically demonstrate the mapping of a specific problem.  

Tutorial support is integrated into the course and will be provided throughout the semester.

The course will be held in English.

What will students learn in this course?

  • concepts and tools to analyze the interplay of science, technology and society
  • the application of these new skills in working on specific debates at the intersection of science, technology and society
  • techniques of searching for, assessing and preparing information
  • techniques and forms of presentation
  • thinking and collaborating in interdisciplinary spaces
  • the ability to reflect on one’s own disciplinary perspective and on the responsibility of science in society
  • the ability to understand and assess the entanglement of societal values and scientific expertise in the debates

 

 

For which study programs can I complete the course?

The course can be completed for modules in different study programs.

  • In the master program Chemistry the 10 ECTS can be completed in the „Modulgruppe Fachverbreiterung und Ergänzungsstudien“. In the master program Biological Chemistry the 10 ECTS can be completed in the „Wahlmodul Fachverbreiterung“. In the master program Chemistry & Technology of Materials the 10 ECTS can be completed in the „Wahlmodul“. In case of questions concerning the three master programs of SPL 27 please contact the study program director (Lothar Brecker).
  • In the master program Development Studies the 10 ETCS can be completed in the "Vertiefungsmodul 9 (VM9)". 
  • In the master program Earth Sciences 10 ECTS will be approved in "Individual Electives" (MA-ERD-17.0).
  • In the master program Environmental Sciences you can attend the class as "free choice course".
  • In the master program Mass Media and Communication Science (2003 / 2017) the 10 ECTS will be recognized in “Free Electives” / “Individual Electives”.
  • In the master programs Molecular Biology (Molecular Biology; Genetics and Developmental Biology; Molecular Microbiology, Microbial Ecology and Immunobiology) the 10 ECTS credit points can be  completed in the Elective Module Additional Scientific Qualifications for Biologists (=WZB) without the need for further inquiry with the study program director. For recognitions beyond that, please get in contact with the study program director.
  • In the master program Nutritional Sciences the 10 ECTS credit points can be completed for Module 9 and 10 (Practical Skills I and II), for Internship and Guided Courses I and II, as well as Praxis I and II. For recognitions beyond that, please contact the study program director.
  • In the diploma study program Pharmacy you can complete the course for the module "Free Electives".
  • In the master program Physics the 10 ECTS can be completed in the "Wahlmodul Interessen".
  • In the master program in Political Science you can complete the course for "M12 Wahlbereich".
  • In the master program Social and Cultural Anthropology you can complete the course for the module "Interessensmodul".
  • In the master program Sociology you can complete the course for the modules: 'MA F - Forschungsspezialisierung: Wissenschaftsforschung', or 'MA F - Forschungsspezialisierung: Kultur und Gesellschaft'.

If you have further questions please contact the respective study program director.

 

 

How will the students be graded?

Preparation of the readings and active participation in class 20%assessed individually
Mapping and documentation of a debate along specific work assignments (in groups) 45%assessed as group work
Writing a contribution addessed to a broader public  20%assessed individually
Keeping a research diary 15%assessed individually

Attendance is compulsory, in all sessions of the seminar as well as in all compulsory tutorials. 
The grading of the course is based on the separate assessment of different tasks on a scale of 1-5. 

 

 

When and where will the course be held?

Venue:

Seminar room and library of the Department of Science and Technology Studies
NIG, Universitätsstrasse 7, 1010 Wien
Staircase II, 6th floor, room C0602

Schedule:

Preparatory Meeting: 5.10. 14:00-16:00 (seminar room)


Seminar: 12.10. 14:00-18:00, 9.11. 14:00-18:00, 23.11. 14:00-18:00, 7.12. 14:00-17:00, 14.12. 14:00-18:00, 11.01. 14:00-17:00, 18.01. 14:00-18:00, 25.01. 14:00-18:00


Tutorial: 19.10. 14:00-18:00, 16.11. 14:00-16:00, 30.11. 14:00-16:00, 11.01 13:00-14:00 OR 17:00-18:00 OR 18:00-19:00

 

 

 

How many students can participate and how can I apply?

The total number of participants will be limited to 15. There will be a waiting list.

Please send your application via Email to sis.labs@univie.ac.at by 30 September 2018. Please include the following information:

  • Name
  • Student ID Number
  • Master program
  • Information about your case-preference (mobile phone radiation, antimicrobial resistance, helth effects of Aluminium)

Science in Society Laboratories

Seminar/Übung (10 ECTS, 3 SWS)

Ulrike Felt
Maximilian Fochler

Susanne Öchsner
Andrea Schikowitz

Haben Sie Interesse, die Dynamik von öffentlichen Kontroversen zu wissenschaftlich-technischen Themen zu verstehen? Möchten Sie in einem interdisziplinären Umfeld erlernen, diese zu analysieren? Und wie sieht es mit Fähigkeiten aus, sich in Auseinandersetzungen zu engagieren, bei denen es sowohl um wissenschaftliches Wissen als auch um gesellschaftliche Werte geht?

Worum geht es in dieser Lehrveranstaltung?

Wissenschaftliches Wissen und neue Technologien verändern unsere Gesellschaft. Einerseits eröffnen sie neue Möglichkeiten zur Lösung gesellschaftlicher Probleme. Andererseits werfen sie vielfach auch Fragen auf, die gesellschaftlich diskutiert, entschieden und reguliert werden müssen. Wissenschaftler*innen, egal welcher disziplinärer Verortung, sollten in der Lage sein, sich kompetent an diesen Diskussionen zu beteiligen.

Zugleich gibt es heute kaum eine gesellschaftliche Debatte oder politische Entscheidungsfindung, die ohne die Einbeziehung wissenschaftlicher Expertise abläuft. Dabei sollen wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse Orientierung bieten und zu besseren Lösungen führen. Gerade bei kontroversen Themen ist allerdings oft strittig, was als relevantes und sicheres Wissen gelten kann, welche gesellschaftlichen Werte berücksichtigt werden sollten und in welcher Weise all dies in realpolitische Entscheidungen einfließen sollte.

Lernziel der Lehrveranstaltung ist, die Fähigkeit zu erwerben, die Positionen in kontroversen gesellschaftlichen Debatten zu identifizieren, ihre Beziehung zu wissenschaftlicher Expertise systematisch zu analysieren und auf dieser Basis Empfehlungen auszusprechen. Dies ist in vielen Bereichen des heutigen Arbeitsmarktes (Bsp. Politikberatung, Wissenschaftskommunikation, uvm.) eine überaus wertvolle Qualifikation.

Zucker

Zucker ist ein zentraler Bestandteil unserer Ernährung, sowohl in Form von Süßspeisen und Desserts als auch in versteckter Form als Zutat in Softdrinks und Fertigprodukten. Seine gesundheitlichen Auswirkungen, insbesondere die Zusammenhänge zwischen Zuckerkonsum und Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, stehen derzeit im Fokus von Debatten.

Fracking

(c) Bruce Gordon, EcoFlight

Fracking ist eine Form der Erdgasförderung, bei der Wasser, Sand und Chemikalien unter hohem Druck in Gestein gepresst werden, um das in den Sedimenten eingeschlossene Gas freizusetzen. Diese Praxis, ihre Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt, insbesondere die potenzielle Verunreinigung von Trinkwasser und Böden, werden kontrovers diskutiert. 

Endocrine disruptors

Endocrine disruptors (hormonaktive Substanzen) sind chemische Stoffe, die das Hormonsystem beeinträchtigen oder stören können. Menschen und Tiere können endokrin wirksame Stoffe über eine Vielzahl von Quellen aufnehmen; beispielsweise über die Ernährung, über Kosmetika oder Pflanzenschutzmittel. Die Rolle von endokrin aktiven Substanzen im menschlichen Stoffwechsel und ihre Auswirkungen auf die menschliche Gesundheit werden kontrovers diskutiert.

Bienensterben

Seit Mitte der 2000er Jahre beobachten Imker*innen weltweit eine neue dramatische Form des Bienensterbens (Colony Collapse Disorder). Unüblich starke Winterverluste und das ungeklärte Verschwinden von Arbeiterbienen verringern die Bienenpopulation in vielen Ländern. Gründe, Verursacher und Konsequenzen dieses Phänomens stehen im Zentrum einer heftigen Debatte.

Wie läuft die Veranstaltung ab?

Die Studierenden erlernen in kleinen, interdisziplinär zusammengesetzten Gruppen, eine aktuelle Debatte an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft, Technik und Gesellschaft systematisch aufzuarbeiten. Die Studierenden erlernen schrittweise in enger Interaktion mit den Lehrenden Zugänge und Werkzeuge zur Analyse von Debatten, wenden sie auf die jeweilige konkrete Debatte an und erhalten dazu Feedback.

Sie recherchieren Dokumente, identifizieren Positionen und führen Interviews mit Expert*innen. Sie lernen, ihre Analyseergebnisse in verschiedenen Formaten aufzubereiten, zu präsentieren und zu diskutieren. Angenommenes Ziel dabei ist, politische Entscheidungsträger*innen zu beraten und sie dabei zu unterstützen, die Verknüpfung von Wertepositionen und wissenschaftlicher Expertise in einer Debatte besser zu verstehen.

In dieser Lehrveranstaltung werden wir in drei Gruppen die Debatten rund um Zucker in der Ernährung, um die gesundheitlichen Folgen von Endocrine disruptors und um die Auswirkung von Fracking auf Mensch und Umwelt bearbeiten. Diese Fallbeispiele sind quasi "das Labor", in dem die Studierenden das Zusammenwirken von Wissenschaft, Technik und Gesellschaft untersuchen. Das Colony Collapse Disorder Fallbeispiel (Bienensterben) wird von den Lehrenden verwendet, um das Herangehen an ein konkretes Problem praktisch aufzuzeigen.

Eine Unterstützung durch eine Tutorin ist gewährleistet und in den Ablauf des Semesters integriert.

Die Unterrichtssprache ist Deutsch oder Englisch, je nach Bedürfnis der Studierenden.

Was können Studierende in dieser Veranstaltung lernen?

  • Konzepte & Werkzeuge, um das Zusammenwirken von Wissenschaft, Technik und Gesellschaft zu analysieren
  • Das Umsetzen der erworbenen Fähigkeiten in der Bearbeitung von konkreten Debatten an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft, Technik und Gesellschaft
  • Techniken zur Recherche, sowie zur Beurteilung & Aufbereitung von Informationen
  • Denken und Zusammenarbeiten in interdisziplinären Zusammenhängen
  • Die Fähigkeit zur Reflexion der eigenen disziplinären Perspektive
  • Die Fähigkeit, hinter den Kontroversen liegende Wertespektren sowie die daraus resultierenden Verantwortungszusammenhänge zu identifizieren

Für welche Studienrichtungen kann die Veranstaltung absolviert werden?

Die Lehrveranstaltung kann für folgende Studienrichtungen absolviert werden:

  • Im Masterstudium Chemie kann diese Lehrveranstaltung in der Modulgruppe "Fachverbreiterung und Ergänzungsstudien“ eingebracht werden. Im Masterstudium Biologische Chemie kann diese Lehrveranstaltung im „Wahlmodul Fachverbreiterung“ eingebracht werden. Im Masterstudium Chemie und Technologie der Materialien kann diese Lehrveranstaltung im „Wahlmodul“ eingebracht werden. Bei allfälligen Rückfragen zu diesen drei Masterstudien der SPL 27 wenden Sie sich bitte an die Studienprogrammleitung (Lothar Brecker).
  • Im Masterstudium Erdwissenschaften sind 10 ECTS im Modul "Individuelle Vertiefung" (MA-ERD-17.0) anrechenbar.
  • Im Masterstudium Ernährungswissenschaften sind die 10 ECTS in den Modulen 9 und 10 (Praktische Erfahrungen I und II) für Internship und Guided Courses I und II sowie Praxis I und II absolvierbar. Abweichende Anrechnungen müssen vorab mit der SPL abgesprochen werden.
  • In den 3 molekularbiologisch orientierten Masterstudiengängen (Molekulare Biologie; Molekulare Mikrobiologie, Mikrobielle Ökologie und Immunbiologie; Genetik und Entwicklungsbiologie) können die 10 ECTS Punkte im Modul „Wissenschaftliche Zusatzqualifikationen für Biologen/Innen“ (=WZB) ohne Rückfragen an den SPL absolviert werden. Darüber hinaus sollte bei der SPL angefragt werden.
  • Im Diplomstudium Pharmazie ist die Lehrveranstaltung im Rahmen der "freien Wahlfächer" absolvierbar.
  • Im Curriculum des Masterstudiums Physik können die 10 ECTS im Wahlmodul "Interessen" absolviert werden.
  • Im Magisterstudium Publizistik und Kommunikationswissenschaft sind die 10 ECTS im Rahmen der "Freien Wahlfächer" anrechenbar. Im Masterstudium Publizistik und Kommunikationswissenschaft sind die 10 ECTS im Rahmen des Moduls "Individuelle Vertiefung" anrechenbar.
  • Für die Masterstudien der SPLs Politikwissenschaft und Kultur- und Sozialanthropologie wird die Anrechenbarkeit im Detail derzeit mit dem SPL abgesprochen.
  • Für das Masterstudium der Soziologie ist die Lehrveranstaltung im Modul: MA F - Forschungsspezialisierung: 'Wissenschaftsforschung', oder MA F - Forschungsspezialisierung: 'Kultur und Gesellschaft' absolvierbar.

Für weitere Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an die entsprechende Studienprogrammleitung.

Wie werden die Studierenden beurteilt?

Lektüre von Texten, aktive Mitarbeit in den Unterrichtseinheiten20%Individuell bewertet
Erarbeiten und Dokumentation einer Debatte in der Gruppe, anhand von einzelnen Arbeitsaufträgen 45%als Gruppenarbeit bewertet
Verfassen eines Beitrags für eine breitere Öffentlichkeit 20%Individuell bewertet
Führen eines Forschungstagebuchs 15% Individuell bewertet

Es besteht Anwesenheitspflicht in allen Lehrveranstaltungseinheiten sowie in den Pflichttutorien.
Die Benotung der Lehrveranstaltung erfolgt auf Grundlage der getrennten Bewertung der verschiedenen Aufgaben auf einer Skala von 1-5.

Wann und wo findet die Veranstaltung statt?

Ort:
Seminarraum und Bibliothek des Instituts für Wissenschafts- und Technikforschung
NIG, Universitätsstrasse 7, 1010 Wien
Stiege II, 6. Stock, Raum C0602

Zeiten:

Gruppe 1:

Vorbesprechung:  6.10.2017, 14.00 Uhr (Seminarraum)
Seminar/Übung: 13.10., 27.10., 10.11., 24.11., 15.12., 12.1., 19.1., 26.1. 14:00-18.00 Uhr
Tutorium: 20.10. 14:00-15:30 Uhr, 3.11. 14:00-16:00 Uhr

Gruppe 2:

Vorbesprechung:  6.10.2017, 16.00 Uhr (Seminarraum)
Seminar/Übung: 13.10., 3.11., 17.11., 1.12., 15.12., 12.1., 19.1., 26.1. 14:00-18.00 Uhr
Tutorium: 20.10. 16:00-17:30 Uhr, 10.11. 14:00-16:00 Uhr

Wie viele Plätze gibt es und wie kann man sich anmelden?

Die Anzahl der teilnehmenden Studierenden ist auf 15 begrenzt. Es wird eine Warteliste erstellt.

Die Anmeldung erfolgt per E-Mail an sis.labs@univie.ac.at bis 24. September 2017. Bitte geben Sie in der Anmeldung folgende Details bekannt:

  • Name
  • Matrikelnummer
  • Masterstudium
  • Begründung des Interesses an der Teilnahme in max. 250 Worten
  • Sprachpräferenz (Deutsch/Englisch)
  • Terminliche Präferenz für Gruppe 1 oder Gruppe 2

Die Auswahl der Teilnehmer*innen erfolgt durch die Lehrenden in Kooperation mit den beteiligten Studienprogrammleitungen. Bei Platzknappheit werden fortgeschrittene Masterstudierende bevorzugt aufgenommen.

Sie erhalten bis spätestens 2. Oktober 2017 Bescheid, ob Sie aufgenommen wurden.